Username: Password: Secret Key Remember me

TOPIC: Wireless Temperature and Humidity Sensor

Re: Wireless Temperature and Humidity Sensor 9 years 8 months ago #15217

• andyo
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thanks received: 14

Re: Wireless Temperature and Humidity Sensor 8 years 9 months ago #5542

WOW - thats a GREAT finish!

I'm no expert with charging NiMH batteries - is it safe to float charge 2.4V pack with 4V (well, 3.5V after the diode drop)?

If that is the case - then my world of isolated power supplies just got a whole lot easier! (Also, what is the general rule of thumb with float charging NiMH's? - Vdiff, current etc)

Re: Wireless Temperature and Humidity Sensor 8 years 9 months ago #5543

• andyo
  • Fresh Boarder
Cheers. The solar charging thing was a bit of an experiment for me. The panels are rated at 4V 200mA but I found that they only provide anything like that when they're in direct, strong sunlight.

As far as I could find out from my research, NiMH cells should be okay if they're constantly charged at rate which 1/10th of their capacity (i.e. a 1000mAH battery can safely be charged long-term at 100mA). My cells are 2500mAH so they should be able to handle a constant charge current of 250mA.

My first design used a regulator to limit the charging current but I ommitted that from the final design. With the panels I'm using the cells only see a charging current over 1/10th capacity for a couple of hours per day. On a normal, clear day the panels generate approx. 3.5V so the cells only see around 3V after the diode drop.